What’s better than a delicious cake? A delicious, playable chess board cake with chocolate pieces!!

This was my husband’s birthday cake this year. He enjoys a game of chess so I thought an edible chess board would be a good present for him!

The cake is a super delicious chocolate sponge cake. It’s one of my favourite recipes because it always turns out perfect. The cake is soft and light but really chocolatey! I used it for the bottom layer of our wedding cake šŸ™‚

Anyway, this time I made chocolate buttercream to sandwich it with and made it in a square tin for the chess board. I then covered it with white fondant and then came the fun part!

I cut out little white and black squares that I then individually stuck on to the cake. There might have been a quicker way of doing this but I couldn’t think of one and yes this did take a while!!

Chess piece mould

I had bought a silicone chess piece mould off ebay. To make the pieces I simply melted dark or white chocolate and poured it into the mould. I set the chocolate in the fridge because I needed the mould quickly again. The one I bought has enough spaces for one of each piece. But I wanted them to be 3D so they would stand up and be playable; I needed to make each piece twice in each colour and when they had set, I stuck the two halves together with more melted chocolate and put them back in the fridge. This took a while as well but I did it at the same time as making the black and white squares so I was never waiting around for too long. The problem was that some parts were very fiddly to get out of the mould meaning I ended up making some pieces several times to get them whole!

The end result was perfect! I would definitely recommend making board games into playable, edible cake. We had a game and started with the rule of eating any of the other player’s pieces you take. As you might imagine this quickly became a lot of chocolate and we wanted to save room for the cake itself! But it was a lot of fun and the cake was yummy afterwards too šŸ™‚


Leave a comment